Twitter are cranking down even further on hate speech and cyber bullies by launching a new feature which will essentially mean you can’t see threads from people you’ve blocked. The move, which comes during a time when the social media platform is working harder than ever to deal with trolls, has been welcomed by Twitter users.
Before Twitter launched the new update, you could see replies to conversations to people you’ve blocked or muted. This meant that despite trying to get rid of someone from your Twitter timeline, you could still see what other people were saying to them and other people could still @ you and include you in the conversation.
Thankfully, this blocking loophole no longer exists and we’re pleased the company has taken action.
Another move Twitter have made recently is to step up measures to stop trolls creating multiple accounts under different names. They are also working to create a more safe environment when searching the platform by making it so that users won’t see abusive or sensitive tweets included in search results.
Can we get a hell yeah?!