This New Instagram Feature Will Save You From Mindless Scrolling

3 July 2018, 16:55

Instagram's new feature
Instagram's new feature. Picture: Various

By Josh Lee

Perfect for Instagram addicts

Instagram has rolled out a new feature aimed at stopping you from browsing mindlessly over the same content. And let's face it, we're all guilty of turning into Insta-zombies from time to time.

"You're all caught up"

From today, you will begin seeing the message "You're All Caught Up - You've seen all new posts from the past 2 days," with any posts after this message being old content you've already scrolled past. With Instagram's algorithm ordering posts in ways that the general public are yet to fully understand, let alone keep up with, it's a nifty way to avoid wondering down an unproductive Instagram hole.

Instagram&squot;s new "You&squot;re All Caught Up" notification
Instagram's new "You're All Caught Up" notification. Picture: Instagram

The roll-out comes just a few weeks after Instagram's CEO Kevin Systrom said any time spent on Instagram should be "positive and intentional."

He said: "Understanding how time online impacts people is important, and it's the responsibility of all companies to be honest about this. We want to be part of the solution.

2018 has been a transformational year for Instagram, with redesigns and new features such as IGTV and music stickers for stories. As the app nears its eight birthday in October, it's unrecognisable from the retro photo-sharing tool that appeared on our home screens all those years ago.